Posted by: Jennifer | October 17, 2012

Checking in

I tend to go through spurts when I’m blogging. I’m really faithful and diligent about posting my thoughts for a while, and then I get distracted by bumblebees and flowers and I forget to log in for a few days or weeks or months. I’d like to think that it’s because I’m such a busy person that I have to prioritize my time. The reality is that I’m just really fucking lazy.

I’m checking into this blog today because of a course that I’ve started taking. It’s a free online course through Stanford’s Venture Labs programs — A Crash Course in Creativity. The entire purpose of the course is to teach people ways to awaken those creative brain cells and get them active and working. I suppose that means I’m going to need to start actually practicing what I’m learning.

It’s not that I don’t want to write — I always feel like I have something that needs to be said. The problem that I have is with expressing the thought. I think that I have so many thoughts and ideas running through my brain at all times that it starts to feel like one of those headlines graphics at the bottom of the news screen, where current events just keep flying past too quickly to read them and at the same time you’re trying to focus on what the news anchor at the top of the screen is actually talking about. It gets to be too much for me, so I just ignore the headlines and focus on the bigger picture. It’s great for my concentration, but I think I’m also missing out on a lot.

I don’t want to say that I’m back to stay, or that I’m going to promise to blog X number of days over the next Y months. I’m going to blog when I have something to blog about. But I’m also not going to ignore that headline reel anymore. When something wants to be said, it’s getting noted. I’m not sure if this is going to be a good thing or a bad thing, but it’s going to be a step in some type of direction.

Leave a Reply

Categories

