Posted by: Jennifer | December 17, 2009

starting again

My life is starting over again, or at least it feels that way. Tomorrow morning I start my new job — working for a company that creates and sells point-of-sale software to telecommunication companies. The next time you go to buy a new iPhone from Rogers, think of me because I’m working for the company that created the software that runs the cash register.

This is by no means a glamourous job. I’ll be doing a lot of grunt work and I will be working my way up from the very bottom of the company. And I’m thrilled about it. Not just because I’ll have a job, although after being unemployed for six months any job is a good job. I’m looking forward to the idea of being able to grow with a job, to learn new things and have that knowledge beget new opportunities and options. In my last job, I was thrust into the top of the food chain with no idea what I was doing, and I spent two years trying to prove that I was competent enough to do the job. I was unsuccessful, not because I wasn’t smart enough but because I wasn’t mature enough to hold my ground against those that had been in their jobs for a long time. This new position is going to grow with me. It’s a nice feeling.

This will be my thirteenth job since January 2000. Hopefully tomorrow will be my last first day of work for a long time.

Responses

  1. Sounds great, good luck! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

