Posted by: Jennie K | September 14, 2009

the ego has landed

Another awards show, another example of what a huge asshole Kanye West is.

The night was supposed to belong to Janet Michael Jackson. The MTV Video Music Awards certainly started out that way.

But after Madonna’s heartfelt speech about the fallen star and Janet’s stunning performance, a new feud was born, dominated the evening and then petered out just as quickly.

Yes, we’re talking about Kanye West and Taylor Swift.

Sweet Swift won the award for Best Female Video, besting Beyoncé, Lady Gaga, Pink, Kelly Clarkson and Katy Perry. Hooray!

Shortly after she began her acceptance speech, West jumped onstage and pulled the microphone from her hand, saying, “I’m really happy for you, I’ll let you finish, but Beyoncé had one of the best videos of all time.”

Jaws dropped, confusion took over, and Tay-Tay left the stage with nary another heard word.

“I was standing onstage and I was really excited because I had just won an award, and then I was really excited because Kanye West was on the stage,” Taylor told E! News in the press room. “And then, um, I wasn’t so excited anymore after that.”

The next time West’s name came up during the telecast, all of Radio City Music Hall booed.

And then Beyoncé saved the day.

When Queen B won for Video of the Year, she recalled her first Video Music Awards and invited Taylor “to come out and have her moment.”

So here’s the final award tally: Taylor Swift wins the Huge Hug award because even though I’m not a huge fan of hers she totally did not deserve to have that happen to her; Beyoncé gets the Kick-Ass Bitch award for being having major class and grace; and Kayne West gets my boot up his skinny ass.


Leave a comment

Categories