Posted by: Jennifer | July 29, 2009

reading record

I have always been a reader. I spend so much time at my local branch of the city library that I have actually become friends with the librarians. I do most of my reading via book reservations from current bestseller lists and new additions to the stacks, and when I go to the library it’s very unusual if there isn’t a book waiting for me.

With all of this said, I’m not sure if this is a record that I will ever be able to beat.

An avid reader in south west Scotland is on the brink of borrowing her 25,000th book from her local libraries.

Louise Brown, 91, from Stranraer, took her first book on loan from Castle Douglas library in 1946.

Since then she has borrowed at least six books every week throughout each year and has recently increased that to about 12 volumes every seven days.

Library staff said they were amazed by the achievement, particularly since Mrs Brown has never had an overdue fine.

I think that fact that impressed me most was that she’s never had an overdue fine. I pay the library about twenty dollars a year in overdue fines, and I actually live across the street from the library so it’s not like I can’t bring the books back on time. My problem is that I don’t like returning a book until I’ve finished it, so sometimes I need a few extra days with them.

Responses

  1. Hey! You’re still Darksides? That means you’re VERY close to my Thirstday night spot. You should join us one night…just a thought. 🙂

    • I am still in Darkside. I’m on Highfield Park Drive. Give me a holler some time — I never need an excuse to go out drinking haha


Leave a Reply

Categories

