Posted by: Jennifer | July 23, 2009

say what?!

I hate job interviews. I’m horrible at them. I always get all nervous and flustered and I can never say things out loud and make them sound the way that they did in my head. I would like to think that I’m not the only one with this problem.

According to CNN, I’m not. They have a list of some of the most outrageous, insane, and bizarre things ever said aloud in a job interview. I’m loving this list.

Why did you leave your last job?

“I have a problem with authority.” – Carrie Rocha, COO of HousingLink

Tell us about a problem you had with a co-worker and how you resolved it

“The resolution was we were both fired.”- Jason Shindler, CEO, Curvine Web Solutions

What kind of computer software have you used?

“Computers? Are those the black boxes that sit on the floor next to the desks? My boss has one of those. He uses it. I don’t have one. He just gives me my schedule and I follow it.” – Greg Szymanski, director of human resources, Geonerco Management, Inc

What are your hobbies and interests?

“[He said] ‘Well, as you can see, I’m a young, virile man and I’m single — if you ladies know what I’m saying.’ Then he looked at one of the fair-haired board members and said, ‘I particularly like blondes.'” – Petri R.J. Darby, president, darbyDarnit Public Relations

Why should we hire you?

“I would be a great asset to the events team because I party all the time.” – Bill McGowan, founder, Clarity Media Group

Do you have any questions?

“If you were a fruit, what fruit would you be?” – Megan Garnett, Articulate Leadership Team, Articulate Communications Inc.

I think my absolute favourite is “May I have a cup of coffee? I think I may still be a little drunk from last night.” I’m debating whether I should open with that at my next interview.

Leave a Reply

Categories

