Posted by: Jennifer | August 31, 2008

anyone? anyone? bueller?

Ever had something to say, but just no energy or willpower to say it? That’s where I’ve been at for the last eight months.

I love my new job. The last time I posted on this blog, I had only been in the position for a few months and I was still struggling to find my place and my voice in a group of people who I felt were smarter and tougher than me. Don’t get me wrong — ten months later they’re still smarter and tougher, but I feel like I’ve really found my niche and my voice. I’m starting to feel less like I have to defend myself and my abilities and more like my work and my performance does the task for me. I’ve never before worked in a place where I completely respected everyone that walked past my office, where I honestly felt like this was a place where I wanted to be, where I felt like I had a career and not just a job.

With all of that said, I have never felt this exhausted or drained in my entire life. I’ve very quickly reached a point where I’m a complete workaholic. I’ve let my relationships with my friends slide, I’ve let my relationships with my family slide, and I’ve lost sight of the things that I loved about my life. In short, I no longer have a life.

I need to change that.

They say that the first step to fixing a problem is admitting that you have a problem to begin with. You’ve got me — I admit it. Now I need to fix it. Step one: find a new hobby. I still read. That’s something that I could never give up. I haven’t done any knitting lately, but I think that has less to do with time and more to do with the fact that it feels weird to knit a blanket in the middle of August. Knitting is more of a fall/winter hobby. I would like to take a course at one of the universities in town, but trying to come up with $700 cash is a lot easier said than done. I’ll probably have to put that off for a while.

I’m going to rely on the few of you left that actually read this blog. I say few because after eight months of silence I would be very surprised if anyone is paying attention to this url at all. If there is anyone out there, I would appreciate some ideas. Something that I can do with my free time that costs very little money and can be flexible enough to work around my already existing schedule. Anything and everything will be considered — for the purposes of this post there are no stupid ideas.

Responses

  1. Hmmm maybe join/start a book club since you like reading??

  2. Welcome home, Jenniek! 🙂 Missed you!

  3. Welcome back! No good suggestions for hobbies really… How about blogging? 😉 Or photography?


Leave a Reply

Categories

