Posted by: Jennifer | March 11, 2007

making new memories out of old memories

One of the things that I remember the most about my childhood is moving. We did it a lot. That’s part of life when you’re a military family. We criss-crossed the country three times, each time making the trek in the family car, with stops all across Canada and the U.S. along the way.

My favourite aspect of moving was the idea of having a great big sleepover with my parents and sister. We would collapse in our hotel room each night, the four of us and the dog (not Angel, but our other dog, Raider). We always got one room with two double beds, because Julia and I were too young to be left to our own room. Mum and Dad would have one bed, and Jules and I would be in the other. I remember spending nights just lying in strange beds, listening to my dad snore and my mum toss and turn and my sister talking in her sleep.

Last night’s little sleepover with Mum and Julia brought back so many memories of that time. Julia’s flight to Saint-Jean left this morning at 7am, which meant that she had to be at the airport for check-in at five-thirty. So we spent the night at a hotel near the airport. That way Mum and Julia didn’t have to be driving to the airport from the Valley at the crack of dawn, and I got the chance to say goodbye to her at the airport. And of course, Angel was there too.

Julia got absolutely no sleep, which she says was due to listening to Mum and I snore but we have a feeling it had more to do with the butterflies in her stomach. Mum and I slept a little, but it really was a little. And yet it was one of the best nights ever. We drove Julia to the airport, put her on the plane with some tears, and then headed back to my place so that Mum could try and catch a little more sleep before she headed home.

Mum is at home adjusting to life by herself…again. Julia is at basic training camp, apparently already homesick and getting ready to start a new life. And I’m here at my apartment, remembering how much fun it was to be with my family and replacing old memories with the new ones.

Responses

  1. awwww Jen that is beautiful and sad all at the same time…..ya know if you need me, i’m a call away… i love you JO


Leave a Reply

Categories

