Posted by: Jennifer | January 12, 2007

a day to reflect

Yesterday was my third day of work at my new job. The job is…well, unusual is a very good word to describe it. I really feel like I have accomplished very little. Probably because I have. Accomplished little, that is. I have been told that my position at the company is a very unique one. So much so that there are only three people in the Atlantic provinces that know how to do the job. One of those people is in an office upstairs, having just been promoted to a new position a few months ago. One of those people is in Newfoundland, working for the company in the St. John’s office. And the third person is the one that I am filling in for, who is currently in the hospital awaiting a liver transplant. What this means is that I am pretty much on my own for the time being in terms of learning what needs to be done.

My first day here I was kept company by someone who was in this position two years ago, and he was able to give me a brief overview of the main responsibilities. A lot has apparently changed in those two years, though. The woman upstairs will probably be the most help to me, but she’s also in the process of learning her new job, so there is very little time that she can actually spend down here with me. We’re hoping that between the two of us, we can go through the entire process a little better when there are no distractions. That is why I’m sitting in front of my company typing this post at 10:30 in the morning on a Friday. I’m taking today off, and I will work a full eight hours tomorrow. There will be no phones ringing, no one else in the building looking for anything. Just her and me and the work that needs to be done. I think it’s going to really help. There has also apparently been some discussion of perhaps bringing in the woman from Newfoundland for a week or so, since it is a slow time of year anyway and she would be able to leave the office for a few days without it really affecting her workload. In the meantime, I’ve been trying to keep myself busy. Filing, organizing, tidying up the office space, figuring out where things belong. It’s not rocket science, but I guess it’s keeping me out of trouble.

The summary of this extremely long post is that I really don’t know how things are going in the job right now, because I feel like the job has yet to start. I suppose that once I get the hang of all the tasks that are involved in the position, I will have a better idea of whether or not I am suited to the position. In the meantime, it’s hard to really judge when I feel like I am simply keeping a chair warm. Thankfully, the people around me in the office are understanding in terms of the situation, and there is no pressure for me to really get anything done because everyone gets that I cannot do what I have not been taught. That understanding makes it a little easier to say “I don’t know” when I’m asked something, because I know that they are not going to hold it against me.

And if on Monday, after a full day of training, I’m still no closer to figuring out what the hell I’m doing, then I am just going to have to get over it. I’m getting paid good money for the next three months, and if that’s not a good enough excuse for faking it until I make it, then I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

Categories

