Posted by: Jennifer | December 29, 2006

five on friday

Ringing in the New Year

1. What events shaped your life in 2006? The loss of my job in April definitely set the course for most of the year. I had been extraordinarily unhappy in that job for the four months before I left the company, and ever since then I’ve gone through one job and have spent a total of three months waiting for a new job to fall in my lap. Not only did it make a financial impact on my life, it also made an emotional impact. I’m still working my way back up to the self-esteem level that I had at the beginning of the year. It had slowly been deteriorating before April, and then it just imploded. I’m getting there, though, and I know that I will soon be the happy and confident person that I was before.

2. How about you proudest/biggest achievement of the year? Strangely, it’s the same as my answer in the first question — leaving my job. As painful as it was emotionally and financially, it also gave me a strange sense of accomplishment to suck it up and move on with my life, even though I knew that I was not going to be on the same footing that I had been before. I could have fought for my job, and my employer really had no right to fire me and he knew it, but I also knew in that moment that if I did not walk away then I would never do it. I had to trust myself and leave, and so I did. And I think it was one of the smartest things that I have ever done.

3. Did you keep any of your new year’s resolutions? Ummmmm…no. Not this year.

4. What is your fondest memory of 2006? My entire time spent at my temp job could definitely fall into this category. Every day was an absolute treat, and it could never be replicated. Even if I never go back to work there, I will never regret my time there, because of the things that I learned and because of the people that I had the opportunity to meet.

5. What are you looking forward to most in the new year? I am hoping going to get back on my feet financially, find the perfect job, and basically start my life (both professionally and personally) from scratch. I think it’s a great opportunity that very few people have, especially once they reach my age, and I’m going to take advantage of it while I can.

Leave a Reply

Categories

