Posted by: Jennifer | April 17, 2006

tell me why I don’t like mondays…

Well, the whole work saga has ended in the only way possible.

I was fired this morning.

Technically I wasn’t “fired”. I was asked to leave, but my boss has allowed me to formally resign. The end result is the same, though. I have no job. No income. Nothing.

I’m trying to look at this on the bright side (believe it or not, there is one). I have been saying for months now that I wanted to get a new job, that I was bored and needed something new. But realistically, there was no way that I would even look for something new as long as I was in the old job. This was for two reasons: a) I was settling into a rut that was hard to get out of. And 2) I physically was not capable of looking for work while I was already working, because of the whole no-car-relying-on-the-bus thing. I would have to take time off work to look for work, and that just wasn’t going to happen.

But now, I have my chance. My boss has (kindly) told me that he would pay me through the end of this week. This gives me five four working days of essentially pre-paid job hunting time. There are worse things in life, I would think. I now have the opportunity to find something better, with more pay and more respect. Who could turn that down?

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go curl into a ball in the corner and sob hysterically for a while. Before I can do any real job hunting, I need to have a bit of a pity party.

I should add, before I have to break out the Kleenex, that I have received all of the emails and good wishes that you guys have sent to me over the last week or so and they have meant a lot to me. I haven’t responded, just because I am not good at answering emails and letters. But you need to know that it meant the world to me that any of you thought to write.

Responses

  1. I’m so sorry! 😦 That sucks big time, since you’ve done nothing wrong. But you’re right – this can be a wonderful new opportunity. Good luck! *HUGS*


Leave a Reply

Categories

