Posted by: Jennifer | April 12, 2006

update — nothing’s changed

I figured I should update y’all on the shit that went down on Friday. Yeah, nothing has changed.

Not only has this former friend of mine gone around and told everyone that will stand still for a moment that I stole her wallet, everyone believes her! That’s right. I’ve been here for almost two years now, she has worked here for less than two months, and almost everyone in the building is taking her word over mine. I just feel all warm and cuddly inside.

Thankfully, the one person that does believe me is my supervisor. As soon as I told her what went down she started to question it. Smart woman, she is. And I am grateful for it, because if my manager ever hears about this, she will be the first person that he talks to about it, and I know that she will do her best to keep me in a job.

That being said, I’m still looking around. Not because I think I’m going to be fired (although that is still a real possibility) but because there is simply no way that I can continue to work here. Everyone is talking about me behind my back, but they’re not doing a good job of it (i.e. getting dead quiet and turning to stare every time I walk into a room), no one will work with me (i.e. can’t even bring themselves to hand me a pen when I ask for one) and in some cases I am being blatantly ignored (i.e. Good morning. Good morning? Bueller?) And like I said, the majority of these people are individuals that I have worked with for twenty-one months and who I considered for the most part to be my friends. People who I would have defended to the ends of the Earth. Some of them are people whom I have defended to my manager when things went wrong. And I can’t even get the courtesy of having any of them ask me if there’s any truth to it. They just automatically believe it must be so. Who the hell wants to work around that? Not me, that’s for damn sure.

Responses

  1. I’m so sorry 😦 I didn’t realise the woman had only worked there for 2 months – that makes everything even shittier. Makes me wonder if she’s done this at her previous job as well…

  2. Trully sorry to learn of your oh-so-hurtful problems at work. The lady sounds as if she set you up. I found the details surrounding her call to you at home highly suspicious. I wish you good luck sorting through this.

    On a brighter note, you have inspired me. I have started a travel blog. When I have more details, I will drop you a line.

    Cheers! … and stay positive. It’s spring, and everything looks up in the spring.

    p.s. From all that you have written, and all that I have read, I cannot believe that you would have taken anyone’s wallet. Impossible!


Leave a Reply

Categories

