Posted by: Jennifer | April 9, 2006

and the hits just keep on coming

I guess it’s time to tell you guys what happened to me on Friday…

At lunch time on Friday, I went out and grabbed myself a sandwich at the corner deli. I brought it back to work and into the lunchroom. After I got there, I decided to bring my purse back to my desk, only to realize that my keys to lock it up were still in the lunchroom. Me being the lazy-ass person that I am decided to leave the purse on my desk. There was nothing in it worth stealing anyway. If you’re that desperate for sixty cents, take it.

Later that day, after I got home, I received a frantic phone call from work. One of the women that I work with, a woman that I was friends with, could not find her wallet. She wanted to know if I had seen it. I told her that I hadn’t. She told me to check my purse and make sure. And low and behold, there was her wallet. I apologized profusely and told her to come right over and get it. I would wait outside for her.

She arrived half an hour later, along with another friend from work, screeching into my driveway. I walked up to her, bubbling over with apologies because I could not imagine how I had ended up with her wallet. Then she asked me how I could do it and started counting the money in the wallet. I stammered out that I must have grabbed it off the counter without realizing it when I was on my way out the door, which she told me was unlikely, threw me another glare, and slammed back to her car, screeching the tires again on the way out. I waved at my other friend, who gave me a dirty look in return.

So basically, these two think that I stole this girl’s wallet. Even better, they think that I stole the wallet, took the money out of it, and then gave it back to her. These two people are supposed to be my friends, and if they were my real friends they would know that I would rather die than steal from anyone, much less a single mum with two small children. They would also know that I am smart enough not to steal a wallet and then give it back to the original owner. That’s just stupid.

Later, after getting on the phone and crying to my sister and my best friend about how terrible I felt, both of them pointed something out to me. They both said that there was no way that I took the wallet, because as absent-minded as I can be that just isn’t in my makeup. But both of them were curious as to how my friend knew where the wallet was. They had me replay my phone conversation with her, in which she told me to check my bag and see if the wallet was there. Those were her exact words. How did she know that the wallet was in my purse? Is it possible that she walked by my desk at lunch, saw the purse on it, and slipped it in herself?

I hate thinking that someone that I considered to be a friend would try to set me up like this. What would she gain from it? As far as I know, she has no grudge against me. When word of this gets back to my boss I’m going to get fired — she’s not in line for my job. The only thing that I can think of is money. I have no doubt in my mind that I am going to go to work in the morning to have her tell me that “mysteriously” a large sum of money was missing from the wallet and if I replace it she won’t tell my boss. Could this really be how she makes spare cash in the weeks when her bills are piled up? If this is the case, she can go without. I’ll call my boss — and the police — myself before I pay her a dime. My reputation at work is going to be ruined anyway. I am responsible for collecting money from our customers. No one is ever going to trust me to do that knowing that I have been suspected of stealing. So what do I have to lose at this point, besides my job? And frankly, if I can’t be trusted by my co-workers, then I can’t do my job anyway. I’m screwed either way, but if that is the case then I’m going to be screwed with all of my money intact.

With that said, if anyone has a job that they can toss my way, I would appreciate it. I think I’m going to be looking for a new one.

Responses

  1. Oh no! So sorry to hear something like that happened to you. It does sound highly suspicious that she told you to check your purse straight away. Could you tell your boss about this first thing on Monday, before she has the opportunity to do anything? Because there’s no way you would have given her the wallet back had you actually stolen it in the first place – I’m sure your boss will see that something is not right here.

    Please keep us posted!


Leave a Reply

Categories

