Posted by: Jennifer | January 27, 2006

a letter to our fearless leader

Dear Mr. Stephen Harper,

On February 6, 2006, you will be sworn in as Canada’s 22nd Prime Minister. You will be responsible for the governing of a country that includes a wide range of cultures and stories and attitudes. You will be the person who chooses our direction, our goals. Will you keep that in mind when you starting making decisions that affect those people?

I know it’s a little early in your regime to start harping on you (hey, that’s funny — harp, Harper. chirp, chirp Oh, bugger off), but I feel that I should say my piece now, if for no other reason than because I love to say “I told you so”. I sincerely hope that you take that away from me. I want you to defie my expectations, Mr. Harper. I want you to prove me wrong.

Perhaps I should tell you what I think you are going to do, so that you can know what to avoid. I think you are going to do your best to rid us of that pesky law that allows same-sex marriage to all Canadians. I think you are going to do your best to make marijuana offenses punishable by jail time. I think you are going to do your best to get us into bed with some rather unsavoury characters, namely the Republican Party of the United States of America. I think that you are going to do your best to cut taxes, but at the expense of things we take for granted like social assistance and education and health care. I think that you are going to do your best to help the parents of children by providing them the funds that they need to raise those children, but I think that it is going to be done at the expense of those same children. I think that you are going to do your best to turn us into the U.S. I do not think that you are going to do your best to run Canada into the ground, but I do think that it maybe an unfortunate side effect of your good deeds.

I support a person’s right to have an opinion that differs from someone else. I support your right to think a certain way and to behave in a manner that befits that opinion. All that I ask, Mr. Prime Minister-elect, is that you keep my opinion in mind when making decisions that affect me. That you remember that, while you may be in charge now, you certainly do not represent the opinions of every Canadian. You need to remember that when you start playing with my rights and privileges, the ones that were afforded to me the day I was born a citizen of this country.

Good luck, Mr. Harper.

Sincerely, A Concerned Citizen

Leave a Reply

Categories

