Posted by: Jennifer | November 16, 2005

open letter to a dumbass

Dear Tina Marie Stebbins,

I can sympathize with you when it comes to having conflicted feelings about the man that you love. I am currently having a love/hate relationship with my boyfriend — I love him, but I hate having him around. I can understand not being able to simply throw those feelings aside and I can understand the pain that comes with not being near that person anymore. I can understand how hard it is to let go when you really do not want to.

But I am telling you right now that if my boyfriend ever shot me, accidental or otherwise, and had his family kidnap me in an effort to cover it up, he would be out the door so fast that his head would spin. I certainly would not be walking up the aisle with him.

I can understand the need to forgive him. He was someone really important and special to you at one point in your life, and in order to move past the incident itself, you need to move past your anger towards him. I am in total agreement with that. But he shot you! He shot you and then he threatened your life and the lives of your children and then he kept you locked up while his mum and dad tried to treat the wound themselves instead of ensuring that you received the proper medical attention necessary to save your life. Do you not understand that you could have died as a result of his actions? That your children could have been left without a mother because he didn’t want to take you to the hospital because then someone might find out that he shot you? At some point, honey, you have to admit that maybe the person who shot you and would have ultimately been responsible for your death if he had his way may not be your soul mate. It is hard to admit, but I think that you will have to face that.

In the meantime, you are acting like an idiot and I think that you should be locked up for your own protection and for the protection of your children. Maybe you have Stockholm Syndrome or something (that is the one where you fall in love with your captors, right?). That is the only explanation that I can think of for your insanity.

I hope that you learn this lesson in time, preferablly before he accidentally shoots one of your kids and leaves them to bleed to death because he does not want anyone to know what he has done.

Sincerely, A Concerned Citizen

Leave a Reply

Categories

