Posted by: Jennifer | September 21, 2005

the klutzy kid

I was going to tell you guys about what happened with my ankle, wasn’t I? I remember mentioning it. Anyway, here’s the story:

I’m playing Frogger (I love that game!) with the cars on Akerley Blvd in Dartmouth on Monday morning. Akerley Blvd is a four-land road with a grass median in the middle. And it’s always packed with cars in the morning. And of course, the bus drops me off across the street from work. So I made it through the first part to the grass, and I’m waiting for the cars to break enough to make it through to the parking lot of my building. I see my chance, and I step off the curb to make a run for it…

…and the spiky heel of my boot goes right into a small pothole. I twist to my left side, feel my ankle collapse, and hear a really loud cracking sound. In an effort get standing again, I throw my body towards the right…and overcorrect, feeling my ankle collapse in the other direction with yet another cracking sound. I finally manage to drag myself, with one leg flailing uselessly behind me, to the side of the road before an eighteen-wheeler comes barreling along. Because getting hit by a truck would really cap off the experience.

I spent most of Monday sitting at my desk because I was afraid to walk. I could feel my ankle swelling up in my boot but I didn’t want to look because once you take the boot off, you’re never getting it back on. When I finally did get home and strip off the offending footwear, my ankle swelled up to about five times it’s normal size and immediately turned purple with bruises. The bruises wrap around my entire ankle, but they’re centred mostly on the left side where I first crunched down.

Two days later, I’m still walking around pretty gingerly. I’ve got my ankle well wrapped and I’m keeping it elevated and iced when I’m at home. Work is a different story because I actually do a lot of walking around in the course of the day, but I’m managing to keep the pain from getting too bad.

I went to the clinic yesterday so that I could get a medical professional’s opinion. I knew that it wasn’t broken, but it’s still nice to hear someone else say it. I tore the tendons and possibly ripped into the muscle a little. They offered to send me for x-rays, but I declined. At this point, that ankle is so fucked up that nothing that I could do to it is going to make it any worse.

I think I’m going to have to talk to my doctor about orthopedic surgery, to get all the scar tissue out of there. That’s what’s making it hard for me to walk, and that’s what is making it possible for stupid things like this to keep happening. I should be able to walk from point A to point B without limping. It’s craziness. It’s inconvenient. And it’s beyond painful.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go have some cake and an aspirin.

Responses

  1. Oh no! 😦 So sorry to hear about your ankle. Have you hurt it before as well?

  2. Sadly, this ankle has been a source of pain and amusement for me for years.

    When I was twelve, I fell while figure skating and broke my ankle. That break caused scar tissue to build up, weakening my ankle. My ankle is now so weak that simply walking across the street can be catastrophic. Of coures, the more I sprain it (and it used to be at least twice a year), the more scar tissue builds up and the weaker the ankle becomes. It’s a vicious circle.

    It’s slowly getting better. I’ve been doing physio exercises, stretching and massaging it. This is actually the first time that I’ve sprained it this year — a record for me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

