Posted by: Jennifer | August 22, 2005

the recap

I spent the last weekend at my mum’s place. I had Friday off, so I went down on the bus on Thursday night, and they drove me back on Sunday afternoon. Let’s quickly recap, shall we?

My dad is home for a week, so I got to listen to Mum and Dad fight constantly. My sister has a friend visiting for a week, so we all spent our time travelling around the province, showing her the sights. And in between that, my sister shot her mouth off constantly, to the point where I wanted to smack her silly.

We went to Digby on Saturday to do some whale watching. Something I normally love to do. It was more than a little disappointing, though, as we spent four hours on the boat and never saw so much as a fin. There were lots of seagulls. And I got a kickass sunburn, despite wearing SPF40 sunscreen. But no whales.

We went to Lunenburg and Peggy’s Cove on Sunday. Cloudy, overcast, misty. Just once I would like to go to Peggy’s and see actual sunshine. I suppose I shouldn’t hold my breath, though. At least with the lack of sun, I didn’t have to worry about my sunburn getting worse. Of course, I had to make up for that by spraining my ankle. Again.

And by now, we’re getting to the point where everyone in the mini-van is getting on each other’s nerves. I love visiting my mother, but I’m getting really tired of dealing with my sister’s attitude. I’m really sorry that she doesn’t have a job and I’m sorry that she’s having financial problems, but I really don’t want to have to put up with her shit anymore. I’m finding that I’m coming back from my vacation in more of a negative mood than I left in, which is saying quite a bit when you consider where I work.

At any rate, it was nice to get home last night. And put away the five loads of laundry that I did between sight-seeing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

