Posted by: Jennifer | August 17, 2005

sometimes you have to say “no”

I’m going to write something that I never thought that I would ever even think. People are not going to agree with me on this, I know. But I have to get it off my chest.

I agree with George W. Bush on his decision not to meet Cindy Sheehan.

I feel terrible for what Mrs. Sheehan has gone through. I could never imagine losing a child in such a way. She has all of my sympathies. But she has already met with the President. Just like every other parent or spouse of a killed soldier has met with the President.

Do I think that she has something to say? Absolutely. But she has also said it. It’s been all over the TV and radio for…God, it feels like this has been going on for months. Beyond that, she will never get in to see him, and the reason for that is simple — it’s just too much.

If the President meets with Mrs. Sheehan and gives her the opportunity to speak, then every other family member left behind is going to want that opportunity. It’s a classic case of precedence. Once he gives one grieving mother the opportunity, he has to give it to them all. And the rest of his term will be spent meeting with these people, not governing the country. And while you may think that he does a crappy job, he still has work to do.

It will never happen. No matter how long the circus is camped in Texas. When September comes and the President moves back to Washington, are they going to follow him? How long does she intend to let this go on?

There are so many other ways that Cindy can bring attention to her cause. Hell, she’s already got all the media coverage that can be spared. Start a foundation or a campaign or something. But what she is doing is not only pointless, but it is also not making her any friends. I’m thinking of the poor people of Crawford whose only crime is to live in the same town as Bush. She’s not the only person looking for an explanation for this war, but this is not the way to get it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

